口吃的暗藏的边 - 口吃的心理症状

通过StutteringJack


我在去年的文章中,我谈到了两个主要的一般方法是弥补言语治疗口吃/结巴。 这些方法,作为流畅塑造方法和口吃的修改方法,也“更流畅口吃”之称。 我最后提的,不论它讲的修改方法的形式是,用于减少口吃/口吃的身体症状的事实,不能获得总流畅或任何接近它,除非人们意识到,该关键实质进展,谎言在对心理侧的干预。

研究口吃的原因,在过去的十年左右,已经确认有明确的异常,一个人谁口吃的大脑中,这是确定口吃的原因的主要因素,但是,这是一个有点明白事实上,我们有能力的“重新布线”或“绕过”脑的那些故障的部分,使口吃的症状可以减少,和相当大的。

fear 当我说,口吃的症状可以减轻,我们马上会想到口吃的肢体动作,其中包括,言语重复,prolongations和声音或块cessations,以及与斗争取得的话相关的辅助行为出流利。 然而,正如我在帖子的主题口吃杰克量表评估口吃的严重程度,还有口吃等症状不太明显需要考虑在谈及症状和口吃的程度。 我当然指的是心理症状,其中包括恐惧,羞愧,愤怒,内疚,混乱和缺乏明确的思路,焦虑和恐慌,无奈,尴尬,隔离和社交恐惧等,这是很常见的一个人谁口吃成为害怕别人对他们的dysfluent讲话判断。 如果个人感知在一个非常不利的方式的情况下,他或她可以开发的焦虑口吃的前景高水平。 这甚至可以接近恐慌的心情是“失控”。 这样一来,人们可以感到困惑的话题这是通常容易让他们谈谈。 有人形容这种情况为“老龄化了”,因为心灵往往试图用语言描述一个答案,而口吃时变为空白。 口吃和/或口吃的恐惧可能会导致一定程度的社交恐惧症,而且研究表明,成年人的比例很高谁口吃表现出社交恐惧症的症状。

大多数谁不口吃的人,会出现了不同程度的焦虑,如果当他们被要求做在一个陌生的群体面前讲话,而不准备。 由于洪水的想法如何他人评判他们,这意味着什么,以个人的大脑,心灵可以去空白和语音可以成为dysfluent最雄辩的人,特别是如果混乱和时间上的压力被添加到方程。 有些人谁口吃,也可以感受到情绪,可能会导致尴尬和愤怒,他们发现自己的情况。其结果是,一些人可以选择把自己隔离,从人,他 ​​们有麻烦说话谁不同程度,并避免它们往往口吃更频繁,因此,导致社会恐怖症的不同水平的情况下,上面提到的。 所以真的有,如前所述,两株症状构成障碍,被称为口吃,而这两个症状可以从人到人,情况各不相同的情况,也各不相同,从日常的程度。

虽然口吃的身体症状是非常令人沮丧的谁口吃的人,大多数人谁口吃会承认,这是对他们的心理影响是迄今为止一起生活最困难的症状。 现在,如果这是个坏消息,我也想告诉你,为什么它的理由也算是个好消息。

为什么它是一个好消息是,虽然它可能往往是一个漫长,昂贵和复杂的过程,直接改变口吃的身体症状,这是我们说的都是跟在大脑中的神经系统异常,有可能的人谁口吃改变他或她是如何反应的想法,并触发阻塞和口吃,甚至更好的感受,个人能够改变对口吃经验的想法,并因此改变对它的反应更足智多谋而不是破坏性的。

我们对刺激或口吃触发的想法,无论是一个人或一个局面,是什么引起的焦虑,一旦我们的焦虑达到一定程度的口吃就会出现。 话虽如此,焦虑并不是口吃的先决条件,但它肯定加剧的问题。 什么是口吃的前提是我们的信念系统的编程和讲话结巴的习惯,已成为在幼年硬连接到大脑的编程。

有趣的是,要注意的是每个人谁口吃往往以自己的方式口吃,它甚至有人说,阻塞的物理行为实际上是为了尽量不口吃。 这是努力尝试得到了这个词的一种表现。 这也是有趣地注意到,口吃的人的方式从未忘记或从大脑取出,在情况下,个人已经使用流利成形方法被成功地治疗,并且不口吃多年,如果口吃返回它不返回以不同的方式,但是,这是特有的个体之前被成功地治疗,许多年之前完全相同的方式。

如所提到的,信念系统在口吃,一个人将表现出在任一时刻的程度的主要部分。 在这方面,可以说,当一个人能讲流利的一种情况,并在接下来的不流畅,这是因为信仰体系的行动,在结果触发必须先想想口吃的口吃,然后触发相信人会口吃。 然后,这反过来又触发大脑中去寻找的话,它认为需要额外的努力来获得的。 这就触发了什么, 比尔·帕里,所谓的“口吃Valsalva动作”,在身体,通过呼吸系统,尝试真的很难得到了这个词,因此被卷入了什么约翰·哈里森称之为“口吃的方法避免冲突”和这一切的结果是一个语音块。 现在,这是所有变得有点复杂,在这个时间点,但你可以看到,成功治疗口吃双方的生理和心理症状,需要了解正在发生的事情。

在这一点上,我们将离开治疗躯体症状的复杂性,并继续专注于我们如何控制与口吃的焦虑。 在我的下一篇博客,我会透露一些有点明白什么有助于我们水平的相关口吃焦虑的秘密,并给你如何减少焦虑的一些技巧。 所以在这方面我再次邀请你订阅我的RSS饲料或电子邮件通知,让你不会错过未来的博客文章,我将开始揭示如何,我已经能够成功地把一个“ 5,5口吃问题“,变成“0,0口吃自由和口语的信心兴奋”。

编辑点评:

  • http://www.stutterrockstar.wordpress.com 帕姆默茨

    有趣的阅​​读。 我喜欢引用阻塞实际上是试图不口吃的时候会发生什么。 我的口吃是独一无二的,每天都不同,它似乎。 我do't有很多演讲的焦虑,但仍取得了一阵尴尬后,尤其是当我遇到一个消极的听众的响应。 我的反应是绑成我的秘密天,老习惯很难打破。

    我不是试图解决我的口吃。 经过超过35年的隐藏它,我已经出来了。 我一直在治疗近3年了,但我不打算去了。 我不想被固定的 - 我想是我。

    你是SLP或心理学家? 你在哪里得到你的理论?

    我会继续阅读 - 我们的观点都是如此不同。

    帕姆最后的博客帖子.. 更多同胞通话

  • http://www.stutteringonlinetherapy.com 芭芭拉·达姆

    嗨杰克,

    我同意了很多东西,你说的口吃的情感方面的,我绝对同意的人谁口吃可以改变他们的反应。 您也提到,研究证实,有一个人谁口吃是一个主要因素,但是当你谈论​​的治疗,你传递了正确的和只专注于不断变化的想法和反应的大脑中明确异常。 同样重要的是改变语音产生的神经过程。 也许你不知道,有一个治疗方法,针对的神经过程。 据了解更如何重新连接大脑自然产生的语音比通常认可。 这是我对待口吃的方式。 这就是为什么我知道这是可以做到。 每个人似乎都被锁定在流畅塑造和修改口吃作为唯一的治疗方法,但事实并非如此。 喔关键真正的进展,需要改变想法和反应,因为这可以使系统自动运行。 也就是说,用于生产流利讲话必不可少的。

  • http://www.stutteringjack.com StutteringJack

    帕姆,
    感谢您的意见。 我既不是SLP或心理学家。 我究竟是谁一直念念不忘寻找答案口吃了将近30年的人。 有可能我们很多人在这一类,但我已经做了这一切,并认为它比大多数。 正如你所说,我们都有一个不同的角度,它是我一直在试图让跨在我早期的帖子,说我们没有经验,口吃的方法相同。

  • http://www.stutterrockstar.wordpress.com 帕姆

    我们每个人都成为专家在我们自己的口吃,对不对? 你会在今年到来托特,他在斯科茨代尔NSA会议? 很想见到你聊天的人。 保持良好的工作!

    帕姆

  • http://www.stutteringonlinetherapy.com 芭芭拉·达姆

    其实我后,你的精彩讲座简要帕西帕尼遇见了你。 我还不知道有关斯科茨代尔。 我很想去,但我不知道它可以工作,所以我没有把一个建议,但如果我能来,我一定会在那里。

  • http://www.stutteringonlinetherapy.com 芭芭拉·达姆

    其实我后,你的精彩讲座简要帕西帕尼遇见了你。 我还不知道有关斯科茨代尔。 我很想去,但我不知道它可以工作,所以我没有把一个建议,但如果我能来,我一定会在那里。

  • 如果我有开头的单词我用一个实际存在的困难,如在我的膝盖或桌子手指轻点。 我告诉我的大脑时,我的手指碰到面,我会说这个词。 工程80%的时间。 我也开始句子了与一个“之”字,如单词“所以”。 语法它可能不是正确的,但它得到了我通过一些艰难的时刻。 祝你好运所有。 你有朋友在那里随处可见。 和平。

  • 言语治疗奥兰治县

    像口吃结巴或说话困难是其中的几个条件都非常猖獗时下。 还有什么比这更倒霉的是谁的人,从这样的条件下受苦有时也没有公开接受入导致孤立于社会。 实在是附着于这些问题的一个伟大的社会耻辱,这是非常心脏破裂。 也许这篇文章提醒我们,人谁从语音问题遭受也是人谁是有感情的。 他们需要我们的理解和支持!

  • rabab

    这是非常丰富!

  • rabab

    我是一个言语和语言治疗师。 目前工作WITN 4成人患者,是非常有兴趣开始支持小组。 u能以某种方式帮助吗?

  • 米歇尔·鲍特韦尔

    我第一次产生了重大的惊恐发作和焦虑发作,医生把我的Xanax治疗,但它与我的头乱七八糟实在太差了,我有记忆问题。 我是在一个人间地狱。 后来,一个朋友向我推荐了这个待遇,我非常感谢它,我可以去任何地方,我想没有问题,没有焦虑或惊恐发作,我是一个新人了。 看这个检讨,这对我帮助很大:panicsolutionkey.com

Stuttering’s Hidden Side – the psychological symptoms of stuttering

by StutteringJack


In my last post, I spoke about the two main general approaches that make up speech therapy for stuttering/stammering. Those approaches, being the fluency shaping method and the stuttering modification method, also known as “stutter more fluently”. I concluded by mentioning the fact that, irrespective of which form of speaking modification method is used to reduce the physical symptoms of stuttering/stammering, one cannot gain total fluency or anything approaching it, unless one realizes, that the key to real progress, lies in the intervention on the psychological side.

Research into the cause of stuttering, over the last decade or so, has confirmed that there are definite anomalies, within the brain of a person who stutters, that are a major factor in identifying the cause of stuttering, however, it is a little understood fact that we are capable of “rewiring” or “circumventing” those faulty parts of the brain, so that the symptoms of stuttering can be reduced, and quite substantially.

fearWhen I say that the symptoms of stuttering can be reduced, we immediately think of the physical action of stuttering, which includes, speech repetitions, prolongations and cessations of sound or blocks, as well as the secondary behaviour associated with the struggle to get the words out fluently. However, as was the subject of my post on the Stuttering Jack Scale of assessing the severity of stuttering, there are other less obvious symptoms of stuttering that need to be considered when talking about the symptoms and degree of stuttering. I am of course referring to the psychological symptoms which include fear, shame, anger, guilt, confusion and lack of clear thought, anxiety and panic, frustration, embarrassment, isolation and social phobia etc. It is common for a person who stutters to be fearful of the judgement of others towards their dysfluent speech. If the individual perceives the situation in a very negative way, he or she can develop a high level of anxiety about the prospect of stuttering. This can even approach feelings of panic at being “out of control”. As a result, one can become confused about topics which are normally easy for them to talk about. Some people describe this situation as “greying out”, as the mind tends to go blank when trying to verbalise an answer while stuttering. Stuttering and/or the fear of stuttering can lead to a degree of social phobia, and studies have shown that a high percentage of adults who stutter demonstrate the symptoms of social phobia.

Most people who do not stutter, would have experienced varying degrees of anxiety if and when they have been called on to make a speech in front of an unfamiliar group without being prepared. As thoughts flood the brain about how others will judge them, and what that means to the individual, the mind can go blank, and speech can become dysfluent in the most eloquent of people, especially if confusion and time pressure are added to the equation. Some people who stutter, can also feel emotions that can cause embarrassment, and anger over the situation that they find themselves in. As a result, some individuals can choose to isolate themselves to varying degrees from people who they have trouble speaking to, and avoid situations that they tend to stutter more frequently in, hence, leading to the varying levels of social phobia, referred to above. So there are really, as mentioned, two strains of symptom that make up the disorder, known as stuttering, and these two symptoms can vary from person to person, situation to situation, and also vary in degree from day to day.

While the physical symptom of stuttering is extremely frustrating for the person who stutters, the majority of people who stutter would confess that it is the psychological impact on them that is by far the hardest symptom to live with. Now if that is the bad news, I also want to tell you why it is reason to also be the good news.

Why it is the good news is that while it may often be a long, costly and complex process to directly alter the physical symptoms of stuttering, which as we have said are to do with neurological anomalies in the brain, it is possible for the person who stutters to alter how he or she reacts to the thoughts and feelings that trigger the blocking and stuttering, and even better, the individual is able to change the thoughts about the stuttering experience, and as a result alter the reaction to it to be more resourceful rather than destructive.

Our thoughts about a stimulus or stuttering trigger, be it a person or a situation, are what gives rise to anxiety and once our anxiety reaches a certain level the stuttering will appear. Having said that, anxiety is not a prerequisite for stuttering but it certainly aggravates the problem. What is a prerequisite for stuttering is the programming of our belief system and the programming of the stuttered speech habit that has become hardwired into the brain at an early age.

It is interesting to note that every person who stutters tends to stutter in their own way, and it has even been said that the physical act of blocking is actually an effort to try not to stutter. It is a manifestation of the effort to try to get the word out. It is also interesting to note that the individual’s way of stuttering is never forgotten or removed from the brain, and in cases where an individual has been successfully treated using a fluency shaping method, and does not stutter for many years, if the stuttering returns it does not return in a different way but the exact same way that was peculiar to the individual before being successfully treated, many years before.

As mentioned, the belief system plays a major part in the degree of stuttering that a person will exhibit at any one time. In that regard it can be argued that where a person is fluent in one situation, and not fluent in the next, it is as a result of the actions of the belief system, in that to trigger the stuttering one must first think about stuttering, which then triggers the belief that one will stutter. This then in turn triggers the brain to look for words that it believes will require extra effort to get out. This then triggers what, Bill Parry, calls a “stuttering valsalva manoeuvre”, where the body, through the respiratory system, tries really hard to get the word out and consequently gets caught up in what John Harrison calls a “stuttering approach avoidance conflict”, and the result of all this is a speech block. Now that is all getting a bit complex at this point in time but as you can see, to successfully treat both the physical and psychological symptoms of stuttering, one needs to understand what is going on.

At this point we will leave the complexity of treating the physical symptoms and continue to concentrate on how we can control the anxiety associated with stuttering. In my next blog post I will reveal some little understood secrets of what contributes to our levels of stuttering associated anxiety, and, give you some tips on how to reduce that anxiety. So in that regard I once again invite you to subscribe to my RSS feed or email notification so that you don’t miss the coming blog posts where I will begin to reveal how I have been able to successfully turn a “5,5 stuttering problem”, into “0,0 stuttering freedom and speaking confidence euphoria”.

Comments:

  • http://www.stutterrockstar.wordpress.com Pam Mertz

    Interesting read. I like the reference that blocking is actually what happens when trying not to stutter. My stutter is unique and different every day, it seems. I do’t have much speech anxiety, but still get embarassed once in a while, especially when I encounter a negative listener response. My reactions are tied into my covert days, and old habits are hard to break.

    I am not trying to fix my stutter. After more than 35 years of hiding it, I have come out. I have been in therapy for almost 3 years now, but I am not going to go any more. I don’t want to be fixed – I want to be me.

    Are you a SLP or psychologist? Where do you get your theories from?

    I will keep reading – our perspectives are all so different.

    Pam’s last blog post..More Sibling Talk

  • http://www.stutteringonlinetherapy.com Barbara Dahm

    Hi Jack,

    I agree with a lot of what you say about the emotional aspects of stuttering and I definitely agree that people who stutter can change their reactions. You also mentioned that research confirms that there are definite anomalies within the brain of a person who stutters that are a major factor, but then when you talk about treatment, you pass right over that and focus only on changing thoughts and reactions. It is equally important to change the neurological processes of speech production. Perhaps you are not aware that there is a therapy approach that targets the neurological processes. It is more understood how to rewire the brain to produce speech naturally than is usually recognized. This is the way I treat stuttering. That’s why I know it can be done. Everyone seems to be locked into fluency shaping and stuttering modification as the only therapies, but this is not so. I see the key to real progress requires changing thoughts and reactions, because this allows the system to function automatically. That is essential for the production of fluent speech.

  • http://www.stutteringjack.com StutteringJack

    Pam,
    Thanks for your comments. I am neither an SLP or a psychologist. I am just a person who has been obsessed with finding the answer to stuttering for nearly 30 years. There are probably many of us in that category but I have done it all and thought about it more than most. As you say we all have a different perspective and that it what I have been trying to get across in my earlier posts, that none of us experience stuttering the same way.

  • http://www.stutterrockstar.wordpress.com Pam

    We each become experts in our own stuttering, right? Will you be coming tot he NSA Conference in Scottsdale this year? Would love to meet you and chat in person. Keep up the good work!

    Pam

  • http://www.stutteringonlinetherapy.com Barbara Dahm

    Actually I met you briefly in Parsippany after your wonderful talk. I don't know yet about Scottsdale. I'd love to come but am not sure it can work so I haven't put in a proposal, but if I can come I'll surely be there.

  • http://www.stutteringonlinetherapy.com Barbara Dahm

    Actually I met you briefly in Parsippany after your wonderful talk. I don't know yet about Scottsdale. I'd love to come but am not sure it can work so I haven't put in a proposal, but if I can come I'll surely be there.

  • dee

    If I ever have trouble beginning a word I use a physical presence such as a finger tap on my knee or a table. I tell my brain when my finger hits the surface I will say the word. Works 80% of the time. I also start sentences off with an “s” word such as the word “so”. Grammatically it might not be right but it gets me through some tough times. Good luck to you all. You have friends out there everywhere. Peace.

  • speech therapy Orange County

    Speech problems like stuttering or stammering are among the several conditions that are very rampant nowadays. What is even more unfortunate than this is that people who suffer from such conditions are sometimes not openly accepted into the society which leads to isolation. There is really a great social stigma attached to these problems and it is very heart breaking. May this post remind us that people who suffer from speech problems are also human beings who have feelings. They need our understanding and support!

  • rabab

    this is very informative!

  • rabab

    I am a speech and language therapist. currently working witn 4 adult patients and is very interested starting a support group. can u help in some way ?