التأتأة في الجانب الخفي - الأعراض النفسية من التأتأة

بواسطة StutteringJack


في آخر مشاركة لي، وأنا تحدثت عن اثنين من المناهج العامة الرئيسية التي تشكل علاج النطق لالتأتأة / التلعثم. هذه النهج، يجري طريقة الطلاقة تشكيل وطريقة تعديل متعثرة، والمعروف أيضا باسم "تلعثم أكثر بطلاقة". واختتمت بذكر حقيقة أنه يستخدم بغض النظر عن أي شكل من التحدث طريقة التعديل للحد من الأعراض الجسدية من التأتأة / التلعثم، لا يمكن للمرء الحصول على الطلاقة الكلية أو أي شيء يقترب منه، ما لم يدرك أحد، أن مفتاح التقدم الحقيقي، الأكاذيب في تدخل على الجانب النفسي.

البحث في سبب التأتأة، على مدى العقد الماضي أو نحو ذلك، وأكد أن هناك مفارقات واضحة، داخل الدماغ من الشخص الذي التعتعة، التي هي عامل رئيسي في تحديد سبب التأتأة، ومع ذلك، فمن قليلا يفهم حقيقة أننا قادرون على "تغيير الأسلاك الكهربائية" أو "التحايل" تلك الأجزاء المعيبة من الدماغ، بحيث يمكن تقليل أعراض التلعثم، وبشكل كبير جدا.

fear عندما أقول أن أعراض التلعثم يمكن الحد، نعتقد فورا من العمل البدني من التأتأة، والذي يتضمن، التكرار الكلام، والتمديدات وقرارات وقف الصوت أو كتل، فضلا عن السلوك الثانوية المرتبطة النضال للحصول على الكلمات من بطلاقة. لكن، وكما كان موضوع منصبي على التأتأة جاك مقياس لتقييم شدة التأتأة، وهناك أعراض أخرى أقل وضوحا من التأتأة التي تحتاج إلى أخذها في الاعتبار عند الحديث عن الأعراض ودرجة من التأتأة. أنا بالطبع اشارة الى الأعراض النفسية التي تشمل الخوف والخجل والغضب، والشعور بالذنب، والارتباك وعدم وجود واضح الفكر والقلق والذعر والإحباط والحرج والعزلة ورهاب الاجتماعية الخ ومن الشائع للشخص الذي التعتعة أن تكون خوفا من حكم الآخرين تجاه خطاب dysfluent بهم. إذا أدرك الفرد الوضع بطريقة سلبية للغاية، وقال انه أو انها يمكن أن تتطور على مستوى عال من القلق حول احتمال التأتأة. هذا حتى يمكن التعامل مع مشاعر الذعر في كونها "خارج السيطرة". ونتيجة لذلك، يمكن للمرء أن يصبح الخلط حول مواضيع التي يسهل عادة بالنسبة لهم للحديث عنها. بعض الناس وصف هذا الوضع بأنه "شيب خارج"، والعقل يميل للذهاب فارغة عند محاولة verbalise جوابا بينما التأتأة. التأتأة و / أو الخوف من التأتأة يمكن أن يؤدي إلى درجة من الرهاب الاجتماعي، وأظهرت الدراسات أن نسبة عالية من البالغين الذين تلعثم تظهر أعراض الرهاب الاجتماعي.

أن معظم الناس الذين لا تلعثم، شهدت درجات متفاوتة من القلق إذا وعندما تم دعت إلى جعل كلمة أمام مجموعة غير مألوفة من دون قيد الإعداد. كما الأفكار تغمر الدماغ حول كيفية الآخرين سيحكم لهم، وماذا يعني ذلك بالنسبة للفرد، يمكن أن العقل يذهب فارغا، والكلام يمكن أن تصبح dysfluent في أفصح من الناس، وخاصة إذا تم إضافة الارتباك وضغط الوقت إلى المعادلة. بعض الناس الذين تلعثم، يمكن أن يشعر أيضا العواطف التي يمكن أن تسبب الإحراج، والغضب من الوضع الذي وجدوا أنفسهم فيه. ونتيجة لذلك، يمكن لبعض الأفراد اختيار لعزل أنفسهم بدرجات متفاوتة من الناس الذين لديهم مشكلة في التحدث إليها، وتجنب الحالات أنها تميل إلى تلعثم أكثر تواترا في، وبالتالي، مما يؤدي إلى مستويات متفاوتة من الرهاب الاجتماعي، المشار إليه أعلاه. لذلك هناك حقا، كما ذكر، يمكن للسلالتين من أعراض التي تشكل اضطراب، والمعروفة باسم التأتأة، وهذه الأعراض تختلف اثنين من شخص لآخر، حالة إلى أخرى، وتختلف أيضا في درجة من يوم إلى يوم.

في حين أن أعراض المادي للالتلعثم هو محبط للغاية بالنسبة للشخص الذي التعتعة، والغالبية العظمى من الناس الذين تلعثم أن أعترف أنه هو الأثر النفسي عليهم أن هو إلى حد بعيد أصعب أعراض للعيش معها. الآن إذا كان هذا هو الأخبار السيئة، وأنا أيضا أريد أن أقول لكم السبب في ذلك هو سبب أن يكون أيضا الخبر السار.

لماذا هو الخبر السار هو أنه في حين قد يكون في كثير من الأحيان عملية طويلة ومكلفة ومعقدة لتغيير بشكل مباشر على الأعراض الجسدية من التأتأة، والتي كما قلنا هي علاقة الشذوذ العصبية في الدماغ، فمن الممكن للشخص الذي التعتعة لتغيير كيف انه أو انها يتفاعل مع الأفكار والمشاعر التي تؤدي الى عرقلة والتأتأة، وحتى أفضل، والفرد قادرا على تغيير الأفكار عن تجربة متعثرة، ونتيجة لذلك يغير من رد فعل على ذلك إلى أن تكون أكثر الحيلة بدلا من تدميرا.

أفكارنا عن التحفيز أو المشغل متعثرة، سواء كان ذلك الشخص أو هذه الحالة، هي ما يثير القلق وعندما يصل القلق لدينا على مستوى معين سوف تظهر التأتأة. أما وقد قلت ذلك، والقلق ليس شرطا مسبقا لالتأتأة ولكنه بالتأكيد يزيد من تفاقم المشكلة. ما هو شرط أساسي لالتلعثم هو برمجة نظام إيماننا والبرمجة من هذه العادة خطاب تمتمت التي أصبحت ماثلة في الدماغ في سن مبكرة.

ومن المثير للاهتمام أن نلاحظ أن كل شخص التعتعة يميل إلى تلعثم بطريقتها الخاصة، وحتى قيل أن الفعل المادي للحجب هو في الواقع محاولة لوليس محاولة للتلعثم. بل هو مظهر من مظاهر الجهد في محاولة للحصول على كلمة. ومن المثير للاهتمام أيضا أن نلاحظ أن طريقة الفرد من التأتأة أبدا نسيان أو إزالتها من الدماغ، وفي الحالات التي تمت معالجتها الفرد بنجاح باستخدام الطلاقة تشكيل طريقة، ولا تلعثم لسنوات عديدة، وإذا كانت التأتأة يعود ذلك لا عودة بطريقة مختلفة ولكن بنفس الطريقة بالضبط التي كانت غريبة للفرد قبل أن يتم علاجها بنجاح، منذ سنوات عديدة من قبل.

كما ذكر، فإن نظام الاعتقاد تلعب دورا رئيسيا في درجة التأتأة أن الشخص سوف تظهر في وقت واحد. وفي هذا الصدد يمكن القول أنه إذا كان الشخص يجيد حالة واحدة، وليس بطلاقة في القادم، فمن نتيجة لتصرفات النظام المعتقد، في ذلك لتحريك التلعثم واحد يجب أن نفكر أولا حول التأتأة، ثم الذي يتسبب في الاعتقاد بأن أحدا لن تلعثم. هذا بدوره يؤدي ثم الدماغ للبحث عن الكلمات التي تعتقد أنها سوف تتطلب مزيدا من الجهد للخروج. هذا ثم يؤدي ما، بيل باري، يدعو "مناورة فالسالفا متعثرة"، حيث الجسم، عن طريق الجهاز التنفسي، يحاول حقا من الصعب الحصول على كلمة، وبالتالي يحصل على المحاصرين في ما جون هاريسون يدعو "صراع تجنب نهج متعثرة" ، والنتيجة من كل ذلك هو كتلة الكلام. الآن هذا هو كل شيء الحصول على معقدة بعض الشيء في هذه المرحلة من الوقت ولكن كما ترون، لعلاج بنجاح كل من الأعراض الجسدية والنفسية للتأتأة، ويحتاج المرء لفهم ما يجري.

عند هذه النقطة سوف نقوم ترك تعقيد علاج الأعراض البدنية ومواصلة التركيز على الطريقة التي يمكننا السيطرة على القلق المرتبطة التأتأة. في وجهتي المقبلة بلوق وظيفة وسوف تكشف بعض الأسرار فهم قليلا ما يساهم في مستويات لدينا من التأتأة المرتبطة القلق، و، أقدم لكم بعض النصائح حول كيفية الحد من هذا القلق. حتى في هذا الصدد I مرة أخرى أدعوكم في الاشتراك في بلادي آر إس إس أو إشعار البريد الإلكتروني حتى يتسنى لك لا تفوت بلوق وظائف القادمة حيث سوف تبدأ لتكشف كيف تمكنت من تحويل "بنجاح 5،5 مشكلة متعثرة "، إلى "0،0 الحرية متعثرة والتحدث نشوة الثقة".

التعليقات:

  • http://www.stutterrockstar.wordpress.com بام ميرتز

    مثيرة للاهتمام بالقراءة. أنا أحب الإشارة أن الحجب هو في الواقع ما يحدث عندما يحاول عدم تلعثم. بلدي تلعثم هي فريدة من نوعها ومختلفة كل يوم، على ما يبدو. I و do't لديك الكثير من القلق الكلام، ولكن لا يزال الحصول على بالحرج من حين الى حين، وخصوصا عندما واجهت رد فعل المستمع السلبية. وترتبط بلدي ردود الفعل في أيامي السرية، والعادات القديمة يصعب كسر.

    إنني لا أسعى لإصلاح بلدي تلعثم. بعد أكثر من 35 عاما من إخفائه، لقد جئت بها. لقد كنت في العلاج لما يقرب من 3 سنوات وحتى الآن، ولكن أنا لن يذهب أي أكثر من ذلك. أنا لا أريد أن تكون ثابتة - أريد أن يكون لي.

    هل أنت SLP أو علم النفس؟ من أين تحصل على النظريات الخاصة بك من؟

    وسأبقي القراءة - وجهات نظرنا كلها مختلفة جدا.

    بام آخر بلوق وظيفة .. المزيد الشقيق نقاش

  • http://www.stutteringonlinetherapy.com باربرا دهم

    مرحبا جاك،

    وأنا أتفق مع الكثير مما تقوله عن الجوانب العاطفية من التأتأة وأنا أتفق بالتأكيد أن الناس الذين تلعثم يمكن تغيير ردود أفعالهم. لقد ذكرت أيضا أن الأبحاث تؤكد أن هناك حالات شاذة محددة في الدماغ من الشخص الذي التعتعة التي هي عامل رئيسي، ولكن بعد ذلك عندما تتحدث عن العلاج، يمكنك تمرير حق أكثر من ذلك، والتركيز فقط على تغيير الأفكار وردود الفعل. من المهم أيضا لتغيير العمليات العصبية لإنتاج الكلام. ربما لم تكن على علم بأن هناك نهج العلاج الذي يستهدف العمليات العصبية. هو أكثر المفهوم كيفية تركيب شبكة كهرباء جديدة في الدماغ لإنتاج الكلام بشكل طبيعي من عادة معترف بها. هذه هي الطريقة أعالج التأتأة. هذا هو السبب وأنا أعلم أنه يمكن القيام به. يبدو أن الجميع يكون مؤمنا في الطلاقة تشكيل والتلعثم التعديل العلاجات الوحيدة، ولكن الأمر ليس كذلك. وأرى أن مفتاح التقدم الحقيقي يتطلب تغيير الأفكار وردود الفعل، لأن هذا يسمح للنظام لتعمل تلقائيا. أن من الضروري لإنتاج الكلام بطلاقة.

  • http://www.stutteringjack.com StutteringJack

    حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة،
    شكرا لتعليقاتكم. أنا لا أحد SLP أو طبيب نفساني. أنا مجرد شخص تم هاجس العثور على الإجابة على التأتأة منذ ما يقرب من 30 عاما. ربما يكون هناك الكثير منا في هذه الفئة ولكن لقد فعلت كل ذلك وفكرت في ذلك أكثر من غيره. كما تقول علينا جميعا وجهة نظر مختلفة، وأنه ما لقد سعيت للحصول على عبر في مشاركاتي السابقة، أن أيا منا خبرة التلعثم بنفس الطريقة.

  • http://www.stutterrockstar.wordpress.com بام

    كل منا يصبحوا خبراء في التأتأة الخاصة بنا، أليس كذلك؟ وسوف تكون قادمة TOT انه مؤتمر NSA في سكوتسديل هذا العام؟ أحب أن ألتقي بك والدردشة شخصيا. استمروا في العمل الجيد!

    حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة

  • http://www.stutteringonlinetherapy.com باربرا دهم

    في الواقع كنت التقيت لفترة وجيزة في بارسيباني بعد الكلام الرائع الخاص بك. أنا لا أعرف حتى الآن حول سكوتسدايل. أحب أن تأتي ولكن لست متأكدا من أنها يمكن أن تعمل حتى أنا لم يضع في الاقتراح، ولكن إذا كنت يمكن أن تأتي سأكون بالتأكيد هناك.

  • http://www.stutteringonlinetherapy.com باربرا دهم

    في الواقع كنت التقيت لفترة وجيزة في بارسيباني بعد الكلام الرائع الخاص بك. أنا لا أعرف حتى الآن حول سكوتسدايل. أحب أن تأتي ولكن لست متأكدا من أنها يمكن أن تعمل حتى أنا لم يضع في الاقتراح، ولكن إذا كنت يمكن أن تأتي سأكون بالتأكيد هناك.

  • دي

    إذا كنت من أي وقت مضى لديك مشكلة في بداية كلمة يمكنني استخدام جود مادي مثل الصنبور الاصبع على ركبتي أو جدول. أقول ذهني عندما إصبعي يضرب سطح سأقول كلمة. يعمل 80٪ من الوقت. أنا أيضا بدء الجمل قبالة مع "ق" كلمة مثل كلمة "حتى". نحويا أنه قد لا يكون صحيحا لكنه يحصل لي من خلال بعض الاوقات الصعبة. حظا سعيدا لكم جميعا. لديك أصدقاء هناك في كل مكان. السلام.

  • خطاب العلاج مقاطعة أورانج

    مشاكل الكلام مثل التأتأة أو التلعثم هي من بين العديد من الشروط التي هي متفشية جدا في أيامنا هذه. ما هو أكثر مؤسف من هذا هو أن الناس الذين يعانون من هذه الظروف وأحيانا لا قبلت علنا ​​في المجتمع الأمر الذي يؤدي إلى العزلة. هناك حقا وصمة عار اجتماعية كبيرة تعلق على هذه المشاكل، ومن كسر قلب. قد هذا المنصب تذكرنا أن الناس الذين يعانون من مشاكل في النطق بشر أيضا الذين لديهم مشاعر. انهم بحاجة فهمنا والدعم!

  • رباب

    هذا هو مفيدة للغاية!

  • رباب

    أنا الكلام واللغة المعالج. أعمل حاليا يتن 4 المرضى الكبار ويهتم جدا بدءا مجموعة الدعم. ش لا يمكن أن تساعد في بعض الطريق؟

Stuttering’s Hidden Side – the psychological symptoms of stuttering

by StutteringJack


In my last post, I spoke about the two main general approaches that make up speech therapy for stuttering/stammering. Those approaches, being the fluency shaping method and the stuttering modification method, also known as “stutter more fluently”. I concluded by mentioning the fact that, irrespective of which form of speaking modification method is used to reduce the physical symptoms of stuttering/stammering, one cannot gain total fluency or anything approaching it, unless one realizes, that the key to real progress, lies in the intervention on the psychological side.

Research into the cause of stuttering, over the last decade or so, has confirmed that there are definite anomalies, within the brain of a person who stutters, that are a major factor in identifying the cause of stuttering, however, it is a little understood fact that we are capable of “rewiring” or “circumventing” those faulty parts of the brain, so that the symptoms of stuttering can be reduced, and quite substantially.

fearWhen I say that the symptoms of stuttering can be reduced, we immediately think of the physical action of stuttering, which includes, speech repetitions, prolongations and cessations of sound or blocks, as well as the secondary behaviour associated with the struggle to get the words out fluently. However, as was the subject of my post on the Stuttering Jack Scale of assessing the severity of stuttering, there are other less obvious symptoms of stuttering that need to be considered when talking about the symptoms and degree of stuttering. I am of course referring to the psychological symptoms which include fear, shame, anger, guilt, confusion and lack of clear thought, anxiety and panic, frustration, embarrassment, isolation and social phobia etc. It is common for a person who stutters to be fearful of the judgement of others towards their dysfluent speech. If the individual perceives the situation in a very negative way, he or she can develop a high level of anxiety about the prospect of stuttering. This can even approach feelings of panic at being “out of control”. As a result, one can become confused about topics which are normally easy for them to talk about. Some people describe this situation as “greying out”, as the mind tends to go blank when trying to verbalise an answer while stuttering. Stuttering and/or the fear of stuttering can lead to a degree of social phobia, and studies have shown that a high percentage of adults who stutter demonstrate the symptoms of social phobia.

Most people who do not stutter, would have experienced varying degrees of anxiety if and when they have been called on to make a speech in front of an unfamiliar group without being prepared. As thoughts flood the brain about how others will judge them, and what that means to the individual, the mind can go blank, and speech can become dysfluent in the most eloquent of people, especially if confusion and time pressure are added to the equation. Some people who stutter, can also feel emotions that can cause embarrassment, and anger over the situation that they find themselves in. As a result, some individuals can choose to isolate themselves to varying degrees from people who they have trouble speaking to, and avoid situations that they tend to stutter more frequently in, hence, leading to the varying levels of social phobia, referred to above. So there are really, as mentioned, two strains of symptom that make up the disorder, known as stuttering, and these two symptoms can vary from person to person, situation to situation, and also vary in degree from day to day.

While the physical symptom of stuttering is extremely frustrating for the person who stutters, the majority of people who stutter would confess that it is the psychological impact on them that is by far the hardest symptom to live with. Now if that is the bad news, I also want to tell you why it is reason to also be the good news.

Why it is the good news is that while it may often be a long, costly and complex process to directly alter the physical symptoms of stuttering, which as we have said are to do with neurological anomalies in the brain, it is possible for the person who stutters to alter how he or she reacts to the thoughts and feelings that trigger the blocking and stuttering, and even better, the individual is able to change the thoughts about the stuttering experience, and as a result alter the reaction to it to be more resourceful rather than destructive.

Our thoughts about a stimulus or stuttering trigger, be it a person or a situation, are what gives rise to anxiety and once our anxiety reaches a certain level the stuttering will appear. Having said that, anxiety is not a prerequisite for stuttering but it certainly aggravates the problem. What is a prerequisite for stuttering is the programming of our belief system and the programming of the stuttered speech habit that has become hardwired into the brain at an early age.

It is interesting to note that every person who stutters tends to stutter in their own way, and it has even been said that the physical act of blocking is actually an effort to try not to stutter. It is a manifestation of the effort to try to get the word out. It is also interesting to note that the individual’s way of stuttering is never forgotten or removed from the brain, and in cases where an individual has been successfully treated using a fluency shaping method, and does not stutter for many years, if the stuttering returns it does not return in a different way but the exact same way that was peculiar to the individual before being successfully treated, many years before.

As mentioned, the belief system plays a major part in the degree of stuttering that a person will exhibit at any one time. In that regard it can be argued that where a person is fluent in one situation, and not fluent in the next, it is as a result of the actions of the belief system, in that to trigger the stuttering one must first think about stuttering, which then triggers the belief that one will stutter. This then in turn triggers the brain to look for words that it believes will require extra effort to get out. This then triggers what, Bill Parry, calls a “stuttering valsalva manoeuvre”, where the body, through the respiratory system, tries really hard to get the word out and consequently gets caught up in what John Harrison calls a “stuttering approach avoidance conflict”, and the result of all this is a speech block. Now that is all getting a bit complex at this point in time but as you can see, to successfully treat both the physical and psychological symptoms of stuttering, one needs to understand what is going on.

At this point we will leave the complexity of treating the physical symptoms and continue to concentrate on how we can control the anxiety associated with stuttering. In my next blog post I will reveal some little understood secrets of what contributes to our levels of stuttering associated anxiety, and, give you some tips on how to reduce that anxiety. So in that regard I once again invite you to subscribe to my RSS feed or email notification so that you don’t miss the coming blog posts where I will begin to reveal how I have been able to successfully turn a “5,5 stuttering problem”, into “0,0 stuttering freedom and speaking confidence euphoria”.

Comments:

  • http://www.stutterrockstar.wordpress.com Pam Mertz

    Interesting read. I like the reference that blocking is actually what happens when trying not to stutter. My stutter is unique and different every day, it seems. I do’t have much speech anxiety, but still get embarassed once in a while, especially when I encounter a negative listener response. My reactions are tied into my covert days, and old habits are hard to break.

    I am not trying to fix my stutter. After more than 35 years of hiding it, I have come out. I have been in therapy for almost 3 years now, but I am not going to go any more. I don’t want to be fixed – I want to be me.

    Are you a SLP or psychologist? Where do you get your theories from?

    I will keep reading – our perspectives are all so different.

    Pam’s last blog post..More Sibling Talk

  • http://www.stutteringonlinetherapy.com Barbara Dahm

    Hi Jack,

    I agree with a lot of what you say about the emotional aspects of stuttering and I definitely agree that people who stutter can change their reactions. You also mentioned that research confirms that there are definite anomalies within the brain of a person who stutters that are a major factor, but then when you talk about treatment, you pass right over that and focus only on changing thoughts and reactions. It is equally important to change the neurological processes of speech production. Perhaps you are not aware that there is a therapy approach that targets the neurological processes. It is more understood how to rewire the brain to produce speech naturally than is usually recognized. This is the way I treat stuttering. That’s why I know it can be done. Everyone seems to be locked into fluency shaping and stuttering modification as the only therapies, but this is not so. I see the key to real progress requires changing thoughts and reactions, because this allows the system to function automatically. That is essential for the production of fluent speech.

  • http://www.stutteringjack.com StutteringJack

    Pam,
    Thanks for your comments. I am neither an SLP or a psychologist. I am just a person who has been obsessed with finding the answer to stuttering for nearly 30 years. There are probably many of us in that category but I have done it all and thought about it more than most. As you say we all have a different perspective and that it what I have been trying to get across in my earlier posts, that none of us experience stuttering the same way.

  • http://www.stutterrockstar.wordpress.com Pam

    We each become experts in our own stuttering, right? Will you be coming tot he NSA Conference in Scottsdale this year? Would love to meet you and chat in person. Keep up the good work!

    Pam

  • http://www.stutteringonlinetherapy.com Barbara Dahm

    Actually I met you briefly in Parsippany after your wonderful talk. I don't know yet about Scottsdale. I'd love to come but am not sure it can work so I haven't put in a proposal, but if I can come I'll surely be there.

  • http://www.stutteringonlinetherapy.com Barbara Dahm

    Actually I met you briefly in Parsippany after your wonderful talk. I don't know yet about Scottsdale. I'd love to come but am not sure it can work so I haven't put in a proposal, but if I can come I'll surely be there.

  • dee

    If I ever have trouble beginning a word I use a physical presence such as a finger tap on my knee or a table. I tell my brain when my finger hits the surface I will say the word. Works 80% of the time. I also start sentences off with an “s” word such as the word “so”. Grammatically it might not be right but it gets me through some tough times. Good luck to you all. You have friends out there everywhere. Peace.

  • speech therapy Orange County

    Speech problems like stuttering or stammering are among the several conditions that are very rampant nowadays. What is even more unfortunate than this is that people who suffer from such conditions are sometimes not openly accepted into the society which leads to isolation. There is really a great social stigma attached to these problems and it is very heart breaking. May this post remind us that people who suffer from speech problems are also human beings who have feelings. They need our understanding and support!

  • rabab

    this is very informative!

  • rabab

    I am a speech and language therapist. currently working witn 4 adult patients and is very interested starting a support group. can u help in some way ?