擊敗口吃的思考 - CBT,NLP,EFT及敘事治療

通過StutteringJack


在我過去的幾個帖子,我一直在談口吃/口吃的心理方面,以及我們如何說話的恐懼焦慮,主要是因為與dysfluent講話講的感知後果的結果。 我談到講一些發人深省的憂慮後果的典型破壞和恐懼,我們可以在我們的頭腦變出。 這種思維方式已經被提到了一些人視為“臭思維”。

nlp 這樣的想法是不是足智多謀給我們。 這是保證讓我們口吃因為我們對正在dysfluent,在這些情況 ​​下,後果更糟糕。 例如,“如果我口吃在這個面試我肯定不會得到這份工作,因為每個人都討厭的人的口吃”。 如果層有進一步的負面思維一樣,“如果我不能找到一份工作,我就沒有收入”,然後繼續添加到其他層一樣,“如果我沒有收入,我可能成為無家可歸”,“如果我我無家可歸我可能不會有任何食物“,”如果我沒有食物我會死的“。 現在很明顯,我們沒有意識到分層這些想法到想法,但我們確實這樣做下意識,並在幾分之一秒。 如果我們不承認,接受,我們的許多恐懼,下意識層自己回到了“對死亡的恐懼”,我們將無法理解為什麼會有這樣的恐懼和焦慮,與具有越來越講出了一些麻煩,我們的相關口,並進入其他人的頭部。 我們生來就有一種與生俱來的信念,這往往是通過我們的童年經歷證實,那些誰是“明顯缺陷”,在某種程度上,往往單挑和邊緣化,或以某種方式被一群“犧牲”。 所以每個人在深深的恐懼被看作是“不一樣”的時候,我們知道我們是否則,。 這樣的想法,如果允許橫行在你的頭上,可能會導致恐慌,或者焦慮至少,恆定的高層次,並能完全控制在你的生活前進的方向。 可所有的恐懼可以追溯到對死亡的恐懼? 在最深分層電平“是”。 這是你必須有,如果你改變你先天和反射的思想,關於你在哪裡讓你dysfluent言論的後果的情況下,要確定你的焦慮水平的關鍵理解。 你必須學會介入在該基地的思想,使越來越多的有毒的思想,不升級dysfluent講話,他們把你的言論失控,進入避免失控,羞恥,尷尬和恐慌,最終導致的後果點以不斷增加的口吃的水平。

如果我們接受帶來負面後果的dysfluent講話,是導致高焦慮,而這些後果,是因為我們自己的想法和感受的結果,而我們可以改變這些想法和感受,那麼我們就可以開始尋找辦法,使這些變化。

那麼,如何才能實現這一目標? 有跡象表明,已經各種方法,並用,培養人,不僅人誰口吃,看他們的思想和感情的有效性。

其中第一項是被稱為認知行為療法的方法也稱為CBT。 CBT教導個人考慮和分析的消極想法,消極後果,他們看到一個特定的動作都會有,並期待在這些觀念的真實有效性。 理想的是,CBT從業幫助個人看沒有有效性的分析感知和該思想實際上是不合邏輯的不同程度和缺乏屬實。 在這種情況下,思想圍繞口吃。 例如,如果個別可有知覺,如果他塊和口吃,聽者會認為他是“弱智以某種方式”,或者,“小智慧”,或者,“沒有說實話”,(見列表在我的最後一個職位的一般後果)。 這些想法的仔細分析,旨在揭示沒有證據支持他們的道理。 通過得到的人誰口吃,怎麼看毫無根據或者不符合邏輯的這些想法是,通過不斷地詢問他們對這些觀念有什麼證據,可以學會替換這些想法更合理,更親自有益的想法,所以降低了演講焦慮水平。

第二和較少的已知方法,被稱為神經語義學,這是被稱為神經語言編程,也稱為NLP的過程的一個分支。 此方法的前提下,如果你能在任何特定的情況下流利地講,你可以學習在任何情況下流利地說。 要做到這一點,你需要學會識別“心態”你是當你精通,那你是當你阻塞和口吃,在不同的狀態,然後學習到步入流利狀態介意,隨意。 它的工作原理的前提下,口吃是一種“思維的問題”,這體現在“會說話的問題”。 神經語義力求改變你給某些事件的含義,在你的人生經歷,從被基礎,以成為更豐富的資源給你的恐懼。 前提是,阻止和口吃是恐慌和焦慮本身表達在控制言論的肌肉。 就像一個驚恐發作,講話塊心理上觸發。 這項工作已經率先由Bob Bodenhamer博士,與邁克爾·霍爾,在自然語言處理和身心語義學兩個主從業者諮詢。 理論和實踐參與掌握減少焦慮講的這些方法,都不是簡單的理解並付諸實踐,因此從這種方法的高手指導醫生建議,但很難找到。 值得慶幸的是Bodenhamer博士,出版了一本關於如何理解和應用這一過程,這對於一個星期派格克隆供給的成本,將是一個非常值得除了你的“工具箱”攻擊來說焦慮和口吃。 這本書被稱為“ 掌握阻塞和口吃 “。 我個人認為,身心語義學開始了在那裡的CBT離開過,是一個更有效的方法。

有解決的個性,開發包中的“口吃藤”說,這些中的一個是個人建構治療的心理方面的其他方法,也知道作為敘事治療 簡單來說,這方法著眼於該人,構建他們的整個角色作為一個人誰口吃,和努力的人面臨著在發展流利或更流暢揚聲器的角色,以解決困難的方法。

其他方法包括可視化,冥想和方式,設法消除困在體內的能量場的情緒和心理創傷,口吃的經歷和其他個人令人不安的經驗,有助於你的反射恐懼和焦慮水平的結果。 這些方法包括這樣的新興模式為“PRANIC醫治”,而且,“情緒自由療法”,也被稱為電子轉帳。 但是再一次,這些都是主題帖子到來,讓我再次敦促你訂閱我的RSS飼料或電子郵件通知,讓你不會錯過有關科目和內容,你不會讀其他地方的職位。 如果你發現這個職位發人深省以任何方式,請做一個評論。

編輯點評:

  • 菲利普瑪萊

    千斤頂

    事實上,我發現這個職位發人深省。 我想知道,很多時候我是怎麼說流利和雄辯的在自己的安樂窩,(麥奎爾計劃的畢業生同胞之間),但是從動盪在法庭上提出一個情況下受到影響。

    不過,我的一個最大的恐懼口吃者有意見,是口吃的恐懼。 需要發生的變化的心態是接受自己作為一個口吃。 一旦這被完全實現,所以不必擔心口吃。 否則為什麼你不口吃水平下降已刻意disfluent在交談之後,由此表明你的聽眾,你確實是有口吃,還等什麼?
    我在自我接納的過程中,它確實需要時間和精力。

    我會定期訪問您的網站閱讀新更新 :-)

  • http://www.facebook.com/masonfraley 梅森Fraley說

    嘿傑克,感謝朋友的要求。 好文章(S); 我驚喜地閱讀身心語義學的部分,因為這是我一直在做我自己,現在一會兒過程。 在我的經驗是非常有效的(當然更有效的比言語治療似乎是)。 我在哪裡可以在後面的原因口吃而這種理論讀了?

  • bjmyers

    我是一個學校的語言病理學家。 您的評論是非常好,非常有幫助。 我特別希望在DAF(特別是卡薩富利)一些意見。 謝謝你做這個博客。

  • Daniei Aigbe

    我現在明白了NLP的意義。

    謝謝。

Beating Stuttering Thoughts – CBT, NLP, EFT & Narrative Therapy

by StutteringJack


In my last couple of posts, I have spoken about the psychological side of stuttering/stammering, and how our fear of speaking anxiety, is largely as a result of the perceived consequence of speaking with dysfluent speech. I spoke about some of the typical destructive and fear of speaking anxiety provoking consequences, that we can conjure up in our mind. This type of thinking has been referred to by some as “stinking thinking”.

nlpThinking this way is not resourceful to us. It is guaranteed to make us stutter worse, because of the consequence that we place on being dysfluent, in these situations. For example, “if I stutter in this job interview I will definitely not get the job because everyone hates stuttering people”. If you layer that with further negative thinking like, “ if I cannot get a job I will have no income”, and then continue to add to that further layers like, “if I have no income I might become homeless”, “if I am homeless I may not have any food”, “if I have no food I will die”. Now obviously we are not conscious of layering these thoughts onto thoughts, but we certainly do it subconsciously, and in a fraction of a second. If we do not recognise, and accept, that many of our fears, subconsciously layer themselves back to the “fear of death”, we will not understand why there is such fear and anxiety, associated with having some trouble in getting words out of our mouth, and into the other person’s head. We are born with an innate belief, which is often confirmed through our childhood experiences, that those who are “obviously flawed” in some way, are often singled out and marginalised, or “sacrificed” in some way by the group. So there is a deep fear there within every human being, of being seen to be “different” when we know we are otherwise. Such thoughts, if allowed to run rampant in your head, can lead to panic attacks, or at the least, a constant high level of anxiety, and can totally control the direction in which your life progresses. Can all fear be traced back to the fear of death? At the deepest layered level “YES”. This is a key understanding that you must have, if you are to alter your innate and reflex thinking, about situations where you are allowing the consequence of your dysfluent speech, to determine your anxiety level. You must learn to intervene at the base thought, so that increasingly toxic thoughts, do not escalate the consequences of dysfluent speech to the point where they send your speech spiralling out of control and into uncontrolled avoidance, shame, embarrassment and panic, which ultimately leads to ever increasing levels of stuttering.

If we accept that creating negative consequences, of dysfluent speech, are leading to higher anxiety, and that these consequences, are as a result of our own thoughts and feelings, and that we can change these thoughts and feelings, then we can start to look for ways to make these changes.

So how can this be achieved? There are various methods that have been, and are used, to train people, not only people who stutter, to look at the validity of their thoughts and feelings.

The first of these is a process known as Cognitive Behaviour Therapy, also know as CBT. CBT teaches the individual to look into and analyse the negative thoughts, and the negative consequences, that they see a particular action will have, and look for the real validity in those perceptions. Ideally the CBT practitioner helps the individual to see that there is no validity in the analysed perception and that the thoughts were in fact illogical to varying degrees and lack substantiation. In this case the thoughts revolve around stuttering. For instance if the individual may have the perception that if he blocks and stutters, the listener will think he is “retarded in some way”, or, “of lesser intelligence”, or, “not telling the truth”, (see the list of general consequences in my last post). Closer analysis of these thoughts are aimed at revealing that there is no evidence to support them as truth. By getting the person who stutters, to see how unfounded or illogical these thoughts are, by constantly asking what evidence they have for these perceptions, one can learn to replace these thoughts with more logical, and more personally useful thoughts, and so lower the speaking anxiety level.

The second and less known process, is known as Neuro-Semantics, which is an offshoot of a process known as Neuro Linguistic Programming, also known as NLP. This method works on the premise, that if you can speak fluently in any particular situation, you can learn to speak fluently in all situations. To do this, you need to learn to identify the “state of mind” that you are in when you are fluent, and the different states that you are in when you are blocking and stuttering, and then learn to step into that fluent state of mind, at will. It works on the premise that stuttering is a “thinking problem”, that manifests in a “speaking problem”. Neuro-semantics seeks to change the meanings that you have given to certain events, in your life experiences, from being fear based to being more resourceful to you. The premise is that blocking and stuttering is panic and anxiety expressing itself in the muscles that control speech. Just like a panic attack, a speech block is triggered psychologically. This work has been pioneered by Dr Bob Bodenhamer, in consultation with Michael Hall, both master practitioners in NLP and Neuro-Semantics. The theory and practice involved in mastering these methods of reducing speaking anxiety, are not simple to understand and put into practice, so guidance from a master practitioner in this method is advisable, but hard to find. Thankfully Dr Bodenhamer, has published a book on how to understand and apply this process, which for the cost of a weeks supply of Pagoclone, would be a very worth addition to your “toolkit” to attack speaking anxiety and stuttering. The book is called, “Mastering Blocking and Stuttering”. I personally believe that Neuro-Semantics starts off where CBT leaves off and is a more powerful process.

There are other methods of addressing the psychological side of the personality, that has developed wrapped in the “vines of stuttering”, and one of those is Personal Construct Therapy, also know as Narrative Therapy. In simple terms, that method looks at the way that the person, has constructed their whole persona as a person who stutters, and endeavours to address the difficulties that the person faces in developing the persona of a fluent or more fluent speaker.

Other methods include visualisation, meditation and modalities that seek to remove the emotions and trauma trapped in the energy fields of the body, as a result of stuttering experiences and other personally disturbing experiences, that contribute to your reflex fear and anxiety levels. These methods include such emerging modalities as, “pranic healing”, and, “emotional freedom therapy”, also known as EFT. But once again, these are all topics for coming posts, so I again urge you to subscribe to my RSS feed or email notification, so that you do not miss posts about subjects and content that you will not read anywhere else. If you found this post thought provoking in any way, please make a comment.

Comments:

  • Phillip Marais

    Jack

    Indeed I found this post thought provoking. I have wondered many a time at how I am fluent and eloquent in my comfort zone, (between fellow graduates of the McGuire Programme), but suffer from turbulence when presenting a case in court.

    I am however of the opinion that the single greatest fear stutterers have, is the fear of stuttering. The mindset change that needs to happen is to accept oneself as a stutterer. Once this is fully achieved, there is no fear of stuttering. Why else does you stuttering level drop after having been deliberately disfluent in a conversation, thereby indicating to your listener that you are indeed a stutterer, and so what?
    I am in the process of self-acceptance, it really does take time and effort.

    I shall be visiting your site regularly to read new updates :-)

  • http://www.facebook.com/masonfraley Mason Fraley

    Hey Jack, thanks for the friend request. Good article(s); I was pleasantly surprised to read the section on Neuro-Semantics, because that's the process that I have been doing on my own for a while now. In my experience it's very effective (certainly more effective than speech therapy seemed to be). Where can I read up on the theories behind the causes for stuttering and such?

  • bjmyers

    I'm a school speech pathologist. Your comment are very good and very helpful. I am particularly hoping for some comments on DAF (especially Casa Futura). Thank you for doing this blog.

  • Daniei Aigbe

    I now understand the meaning of NLP.
     
    Thank you.